The Most Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary

The Rosary is a simple way of meditating on the life, death and resurrection of Our Lord in the company, as it were, of His mother Mary. The origins of the Rosary are ancient. The early monks used to 'count' prayers using a knotted cord. The Rosary developed out of this kind of repetition as a devotion to Mary. It's pattern copied the Divine Office which consists of 150 psalms. The Rosary, as we know it today, was given to St Dominic in 1214 through a vision of the Blessed Mother. Traditionally the Mysteries of the Rosary have been grouped into three sets of five: the Joyful, the Sorrowful, and the Glorious. In 2002, Pope St John Paul II added five extra mysteries which focus on the ministry of Jesus - Luminous Mysteries.

A guide on how to say the Rosary


Joyful Mysteries

Prayed on Mondays & Saturdays


1. The Annunciation

2. The Visitation

3. The Nativity

4. The Presentation

5. The Finding in the Temple


Sorrowful Mysteries

Tuesdays & Fridays


1. The Agony in the Garden

2. The Scourging at the Pillar

3. The Crowning with Thorns

4. The Carrying of the Cross

5. The Crucifixion


Glorious Mysteries

Wednesdays & Saturdays


1. The Resurrection

2. The Ascension

3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit

4. The Assumption

5. The Crowning of Our Lady in Heaven,

and the Glory of all the Saints


The Luminous Mysteries



1. The Baptism in the Jordon

2. The Wedding at Cana

3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God

4. The Transfiguration

5. The Institution of the Eucharist

"Pray the Rosary every day, in order to obtain peace for the world"


Our Lady of Fatima

13th May 1917

"When you pray the Rosary,

say after each mystery:


O my Jesus,

forgive us our sins,

save us from the fires of hell. Lead all souls to heaven, especially those who are most 

in need of thy mercy".


Our Lady of Fatima

13th July 1917

John Paul II:


"The addition of the these new mysteries is meant to give fresh life and enkindle renewed interest in the Rosary's place within Christian spirituality as a true doorway to the depths of the Heart of Christ".